emci.portal@cookislands.gov.ck +682 29 609 Vakatini Road, Tutakimoa Tapere, Avarua District

Pa Enua DRM Plans

Pa Enua Disaster Risk Management Plans

Download Description

The Strategic Roadmap for Emergency Management (SREM) in the Cook Islands (2018 – 2023) was developed after an extensive consultations with key stakeholders involved in national response to emergencies and disasters with the view to reform the emergency management arrangements in the Cook Islands.

The Country Preparedness Package (CPP) is a joint initiative of the Government of the Cook Islands and the Pacific Humanitarian Team (PHT). The CPP is intended to strengthen preparedness and collaboration between national and international actors in disaster response. The CPP is developed and agreed with the national government before a disaster. Through the process, national actors become more aware of international tools and services and how they can be activated. This will enable a more ‘demand-driven’ response, tailored to the specific context.

AITUTAKI DRM PLAN 2021: Aitutaki is a coral atoll consisting of three islets (motus) situated at the corners. Aitutaki lies 277 kilometers northeast of Rarotonga. It is a low volcanic island situated on a “near atoll” and has a total land area of 18.1km2. The encircling reef is over 40 kilometers long and is studded with 15 additional islets (motu). Aitutaki rises to about 121 meters above sea level at its highest point Maungapu. Aside from the latter hill, the island consists of flat-topped terraces and fertile planting areas and fairly extensive areas of coral.

ATIU DRM PLAN 2021: Enua Manu is the traditional name for Atiu and translates as “land of birds”. The island is a raised
volcanic island surrounded by steep makatea cliffs that rise between 3 and 6 meters above sea
level. Red volcanic inland soils are heavily wooded, with rolling hills rising to 72 meters above sea
level. Valleys run east and west, and settlements are located on a plateau surrounded by swamps
and a small lake. The narrow, fringing reef drops steeply to the ocean floor 4,500 meters below.

MANGAIA DRM PLAN 2021: A’ua’u is the ancient name of the island of Mangaia and is the second largest and most southerly of the Cook Islands. It is a volcanic island rising to 169 meters above sea level and surrounded by sharp coralline rock (makatea) cliffs of up to 80 meters. Beyond the cliffs are rolling hills of red volcanic soils, amongst which are swamps used for taro production and natural fresh water lakes. The population of Mangaia has fallen continuously since 1971 and by 2001, the population had fallen to 739 nearly a third of the population. The current estimated population is around 387,almost a quarter of its population now remains on the island since 1971.

MAUKE DRM PLAN 2021: Akatokamanava is one of the more traditional names for the island of Mauke, the most easterly of the islands in the Cook Islands. Mauke is a raised volcanic reef island (29 metres above mean sea level) surrounded by makatea to 20 metres. Roughly oval shaped, it is 6.4 km long and 4.0 km wide. The central plateau is low lying and flat with numerous swamp areas between the plateau and the makatea. This makes access to the sea generally difficult. Mauke has an environment of caves, swampland and makatea.

MANIHIKI DRM PLAN 2021: Manihiki is a coral atoll located over 1200 kilometers north of Rarotonga, with its nearest neighbour, Rakahanga, a distance of 44 km away. The total land area of 5.4 km2 makes Manihiki the second largest island of the northern group, with a highest point of about 5 meters above sea level However, the lagoon area of 4,063 ha. Constitutes a crucial marine resource.
The total number of dwellings declined from 149 in 1996 to 118 in 2001, with an average size of 4 persons. By 2010, the household number is 42 in Tukao and 44 in Tauhunu with a total of 86.


MITIARO DRM PLAN 2021: Mitiaro is a low-lying (15 meter) scrub covered island with a makatea fringe and a central peat swamp and brackish lake. It is the fourth largest island in the Cook Islands, being about 6.5 km long and 4.5 km wide, with an area of 2,230 hectares. There is relatively little fertile soil. The central volcanic mass comprises four low-lying basalt “islands” in an area of swampland and lake. These islands total 120 hectares in area and contain fertile pockets known as Atai, Auta,Taurangi, Mangarei and Takaue food lands. The food lands are situated about 12 meters above sea level.

PALMERSTON DRM PLAN 2021: Palmerston Island is a low lying atoll in the southern group and 280 miles north-west from Rarotonga. The encircling reef is about 35 kilometers long and has six main motus with scattered small motus and sandbanks. On the south western side of the island is the main motu called Palmerston it is also known as Home Island, the settlement is located here. As an atoll the motu’s physical features is made up of coral debris and sand covered mainly with coconut trees, tamanu, pandanus and salt water resistant shrubs and hardy ngangie. On Palmerston ‘Home Island’ man made dug garden pits are found in the centre of the island to grow ‘puraka’ and a variety of fruit trees. The tailings from these dug out pits make up the highest point of the island about 6 -8 meters above sea level. On the western side of the reef several natural passages are located, they are all shallow passages leading into the lagoon. The deepest section of the lagoon is about 90ft.

PENRHYN DRM PLAN 2021: Penrhyn is the largest atoll group in the Northern Cook Islands, with a total land area of 9.8 km2. There are approximately 53 motus surrounding the lagoon of 60 km2, which is one of the largest in the Pacific and which can be entered by oceangoing vessels. The highest point above sea levelis less than 4 meters and the soil is infertile, consisting mainly of coral debris, fragmented shells and salty limestone. The two main populated islands that make up Tongareva are Omoka and Tetautua, which are separated by a 10.5 km lagoon. Omoka is considered the main island given its central location for shipping and air services. The administrative seat of the island is on Omoka.

RAKAHANGA DRM PLAN 2021: The Island of Rakahanga is a raised coral atoll, which lies approximately 162 degrees west and 10 degrees south of the equator. It is a rectangular shape of 9 islets, is the third largest island in the northern group, and is the second farthest island from Rarotonga (647 nautical miles). The highest point on the island is about 6 meters above sea level.
There is one village at the southwest end of the atoll. The total number of dwellings in 1996 was 42. In 2001 the number had declined to 32, with an average size of 5 persons. By 2010, the number declined to 20 households